Recipe: Flourless Peanut Butter Cocoa Cookies

As you may know by now, I am a sucker for the combination of chocolate and peanut butter. So when I stumbled across these, I knew they had to go on my “make soon” recipe list (yes, I have one of those). I didn’t have quite enough regular peanut butter, so I used a bit of natural peanut butter to top it off. Other than that and a sprinkling of cinnamon, I stuck to the original recipe.

this is not the only one I ate

this is not the only one I ate

The dough is thick and a bit crumbly, as are the cookies, but the flavor is rich and delicious. The peanut butter and cocoa compliment each other beautifully, and I don’t feel so bad eating a couple, since there isn’t any butter or flour (though yes, there is sugar). These bake really fast so you can quickly have a weekday treat to enjoy!

pretty

pretty

Flourless Peanut Butter Cocoa Cookies (slightly adapted from this recipe)

Ingredients

  • almost 1 cup creamy peanut butter + 1/4 cup natural peanut butter (or use all creamy: 1 cup + 2 tbsp)
  • slightly less than 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • to taste: cinnamon

Procedure

  • With an electric mixer, beat the peanut butter, brown sugar, and egg together until smooth, 1-3 minutes.
  • Add the vanilla, cocoa powder, baking soda, and cinnamon and beat 1-2 minutes.
  • Chill the dough for at least 1 hour.
  • When you’re ready to bake the cookies, preheat the oven to 350F (175C) and line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a non-stick mat.
  • Form balls of dough with your hands and gently flatten them on the cookie sheet. Bake for 8-9 minutes.

Enjoy!

IMG_4528

3 thoughts on “Recipe: Flourless Peanut Butter Cocoa Cookies

  1. Pingback: Recipe: Carrot-Oat Cookies | Wherever I am, you are there also

Leave a Reply

