Picking Cherries

Yesterday evening I met my friend Iryna at the music school to rehearse our pieces for the concert next week. We played for half an hour and then she invited me back to her house to help her pick cherries before the birds ate them all. Iryna gave me a tour of her large garden – she will have green onions, carrots, beets, summer squash, strawberries, lettuce, potatoes, rhubarb, apples, plums, cherries, berries – and we picked cherries. Then I met the animals – rabbits and chickens. (Yes, they will be food one day, but I’d rather eat natural, home-grown meat like this than anything from the store.) We chatted in English and Ukrainian – Iryna taught me the dialect word for rhubarb, which is румбамбар (“roombambar”; yes it’s hilarious and I giggle to myself every time I say it) and told me how another river from the other side of our valley meets our river, the Prut, before entering Chernivtsi. I made off for home with a big bag of cherries, seven stalks of rhubarb (recipe forthcoming!), and three eggs. Below, some pictures of Iryna’s yard (click to make them bigger).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 thoughts on “Picking Cherries

Leave a Reply

