I am thankful for…

  • having the opportunity to serve as a Peace Corps Volunteer.
  • serving in the incredible country of Ukraine.
  • living in the wonderful and welcoming community of Sniatyn.
  • being surrounded by great Ukrainian colleagues and friends who want to teach me and learn from me.
  • having regular Internet access so I can keep up with world news and communicate with friends and family.
  • receiving occasional packages from said friends and family. (Thanks!)
  • being healthy and fit.
  • being literate.
  • being gifted with strong language-learning skills.
  • having amazingly supportive family and friends. (I love you!)
  • having been introduced early and regularly to the joys of traveling. (Thanks, Dianne & Terry!)
  • being a teacher.
  • having great Ukrainian pupils.
  • enjoying cooking and eating.
  • having attended Oberlin College and having received an amazing education there, academic and life-wise.
  • having been a Division III two-sport student-athlete.
  • having many incredible mentors. (You know who you are. Thank you.)
  • being able to study what I love — English literature and music(ology).
  • having run a marathon for the experience. (Though I can’t say I’ll run another one…)
  • coffee.
  • having strong roots yet being allowed to fly. (Thanks again, Dianne & Terry.)
  • knowing myself pretty well and being open to further personal growth.
  • being ALIVE.
  • computers and the Internet.
  • beautiful music.
  • good food.
  • books.
  • …many other things, big and small.

What are you thankful for? Leave your answers in the comments section.

Check out this post to see what my kid & adult English clubbers are thankful for.

Here’s what I did last Thanksgiving.

For Thanksgiving this year I’ll be attending a PCV get-together/feast on Saturday. We’ll be having turkey and many other delicious dishes (though, unfortunately, no sweet potatoes or cranberries).

4 thoughts on “I am thankful for…

Leave a Reply

