Ukrainian Tunes: Бумбокс, “Віддаю” (Boombox, Viddayu)

This month’s installment of Ukrainian Tunes (see first post here) comes to you from the band Бумбокс (“Boombox”). My 11th formers last year told me about them, but I didn’t actually sit down and listen to their music until a few weeks ago. I’m sorry I missed them for so long, because they’re great! It’s hard to put them into one genre; they’re a mix of rock, funk, pop, and hip-hop. According to Wikipedia, the group was founded in 2004 in Kyiv. They sing mostly in Ukrainian, but often throw in Russian and/or English phrases (you’ll hear one in the following song) and they also have some completely Russian and English songs.

Today’s song is called Віддаю (Viddayu), which translates to “I give (away)” or “I like.” Below, the Ukrainian lyrics and my translation of them (with help, of course, from Google Translate — be warned that the words don’t make much sense…it could just be my poor translation skills. The lines in italics were corrected by Serhiy, one of the PC Language Staff here).  Load the video and see if you can follow along!

Бумбокс“Віддаю” (Boombox — Viddayu)

Подаруй мені цей вечір, той ранок                        Give me this evening, that morning
Я відчуваю ти вино, а не вода                                    I feel that you are wine, and not water
Я з тобою як на рингу з Накано                        I am with you like in the ring with Nakano
Кода, кода, ай, шкода, шкода.                                    The code, the code, ah, sorry, sorry.
Змінюватися не обов’язково                                    Change is not necessary
Ти вчора білою була, тепер руда                        Yesterday you were white, now you’re red
Нам з тобою було справді кайфово                        We really had a good time together
Ти тепер кохаєш Вову, це не біда.                        Now you love Vova, it doesn’t matter.

Віддаю як я тебе, сам не знаю                          Why I’m giving you away, I don’t know
На ногах не стою, падаю                                    I’m not standing on my feet, I’m falling
Я тікаю, вони наздоганяють                                    I escape, but they’re catching up
Задарма віддаю, I’m telling you.                        I give for free, I’m telling you.

Він тепер тобі все-все дозволяє                        Now he allows you everything
Він такий, яких із золота тільки ллють            He is such that is only poured from gold
Та чому за двох я й далі башляю                        Why do I keep paying for two
Якщо я тебе йому віддаю?                                    If I give you to him?
Ти закохана, знайома з батьками                        You’re in love, know the parents
І вони для вас і мелють і кують                        And they grind and forge for you
Що забула в мене вдома – Муракамі?                What did you forget at my place — Murakami?
Роздягаючись, книжок не віддають.              While undressing, people don’t give away books.

Віддаю як я тебе, сам не знаю                           Why I’m giving you away, I don’t know
На ногах не стою, я падаю                                    I’m not standing on my feet, I’m falling
Я тікаю, вони наздоганяють                                    I escape, but they’re catching up
Задарма віддаю, I’m telling you.                        I give for free, I’m telling you.

Краще вже ніяк, ніж абияк                                    It’s certainly better than the horrible
Витирай свій тон, змивай свій лак                        Wipe your tone, wash your paint
Краще вже ніхто, ніж аби хто                                Better no one than no-matter-who
Буду одинак, я одинак.                                                I’ll be alone, I am the loner.
Краще вже ні з ким, ніж аби з ким                     It’s better to be with no one, than to be with anyone
Є ще шахи, гольф, журнал “Максім”                     There’s still chess, golf, the magazine “Maxim”
Краще вже нічого, ніж казна-що                        It’s better to have nothing, than God-knows-what
Відпускаю, па-па, я пішов.                                    I’m letting you go, bye, I’m gone.

Віддаю як я тебе, сам не знаю                           Why I’m giving you away, I don’t know
На ногах не стою, я падаю                                    I’m not standing on my feet, I’m falling
Я тікаю, вони наздоганяють                                    I escape, but they’re catching up
Задарма віддаю, я telling you.                                    I give for free, I’m telling you.

9 thoughts on “Ukrainian Tunes: Бумбокс, “Віддаю” (Boombox, Viddayu)

  1. Sergiy says:

    Great work, Tammela! Бумбокс – суперова група, мають унікальний стиль. Лідер групи – Андрій Хливнюк – справді талановитий хлопець. Я вчився з ним в одному університеті в Черкасах, він був на два чи на три курси молодшим.. Але особисто його не знав.
    Anyway, some blank-filling and corrections to clear the air a little))

    “Я з тобою як на рингу з Накано” – I am with you like in the ring with Nakano (famous busido wrestler)

    “Нам з тобою було справді кайфово” – we really had a good time together. кайфово is a slang word used now in wider contexts than just drugs and getting high like кайфова музика (cool music) це була кайфова вечірка (that was a nice party(not necessarily involving drugs))

    “Та чому за двох я й далі башляю” – Why do I keep paying for two.Башляти is slang for to pay.

    Що забула в мене вдома – Муракамі? – What did you forget at my place? Murakami?
    Роздягаючись, книжок не віддають. – While undressing, people don’t give away books

    Краще вже ніхто, ніж аби хто – better noone than no-matter-who
    Відпускаю – Im letting (you) go
    Віддаю як я тебе, сам не знаю – how come Im giving you (away) I dont know (I really dont know where google get you that “prefer” option..)

    Ok, have fun discovering more Ukrainian music!))

    • taplatt says:

      Сергій — дуже дякую за допомогу! у цій пісні багато фразів, яких я не знала.
      That’s cool you studied with the lead singer in university.
      Thanks again for reading and taking the time to help me out with the Ukrainian.

Leave a Reply

