Recipe: Apple Lemon Poppy Seed Pancakes

As you may know, I regularly browse cooking blogs and am always on the lookout for new and exciting pancake recipes to try after my Sunday long runs. Earlier this week, Joy the Baker featured a lemon poppyseed pancake recipe; I read through it and discovered that I could procure all of the necessary ingredients. (Ukrainians love poppy seeds and a tasty poppy seed paste is featured in various cakes and rolls.)

 

I adjusted the original recipe to fit my ingredient preferences: I halved the flour and added cornmeal, and I added finely diced apple because I like to sneak fruit into my pancakes. The result? Absolutely delicious, fluffy pancakes that easily stand on their own without any toppings (though I bet sour cream would taste delicious on top).

Apple Lemon Poppy Seed Pancakes (adapted from this recipe; makes 4 large pancakes)

Ingredients

  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1-3 tsp lemon zest
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup cornmeal
  • 1.5 tsp baking soda (or part soda, part baking powder)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup nonfat kefir (or buttermilk)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla (I didn’t have any so left it out)
  • juice of 1/2 a lemon
  • 2 tbsp unsalted butter, melted
  • 1.5 tbsp poppy seeds
  • 1 medium apple, peeled & finely diced

Procedure

  • Combine the sugar and lemon zest in a small bowl or cup and rub together with your fingers.
  • Whisk together the flour, cornmeal, soda, and salt, and add the lemon zest-sugar mixture. Stir in the poppy seeds.
  • Separately, combine the kefir, egg, vanilla, lemon juice, and butter. Add to the dry mixture and stir in the chopped apple.
  • Cook pancakes in a bit of oil or butter over low-med heat until the bubble pop and the pancakes are golden-brown.
  • Serve plain or topped with butter, maple syrup, and/or sour cream.

look at that beautiful golden-brown

Смачного!

13 thoughts on “Recipe: Apple Lemon Poppy Seed Pancakes

Leave a Reply

