Recipe: Go-To Granola (previously known as “nutty maple granola”)

UPDATED 28 October 2017: I realized recently that, although I’ve had two granola recipes on the blog, I actually end up making some sort of hybrid recipe every time. I was telling my mom and grandma about it recently, which made me decide I really only needed one granola recipe on the blog. Apparently I get the granola-making bug from my grandma, who has been making her own for years, thanks to the Barefoot Contessa!

All that is a long-winded way of saying I’ve rebranded my “nutty maple granola” as this “go-to granola“: the failsafe, works-every-time, crunchy deliciousness that granola ought to be. I have still not found a store-bought brand that measures up, at least by my taste.

IMG_5266

While this is my favorite base recipe and works great as-is, you are welcome to vary it to your tastes. In fact, I often go with whatever the pantry holds. Here are some tips and tricks that I have gleaned over a few years of granola-making:

  • I learned from the excellent smitten kitchen cookbook that an egg white is the secret to beautiful, ragged, crunchy granola clusters. Don’t skip it, unless you somehow don’t like clusters.
  • Use your favorite nut(s): use one kind, use two or even three kinds of nut to get up to the 1.5 cups required. I usually throw in whatever I happen to have around: sometimes it’s walnuts+almonds, sometimes one or the other, and on occasion it’s pecans when I’ve splurged. (Pecans are really the best, as they work so well with maple syrup.)
  • You’re welcome to use coconut oil instead of sunflower oil. Any other neutral oil would be fine, too.
  • In terms of spices, sometimes I use ginger+cinnamon and sometimes I use allspice+ginger – the latter gives the granola a lovely bit of kick.
  • I used to add dried fruit to my granola after it cooled. Now, I leave the dried fruit out and just add raisins or dried cranberries straight in when I’m ready to devour a bowl of yogurt and granola.
  • You can store your granola in a jar or other air-tight container at room temperature, but this recipe makes so much granola that I usually store some in ziplock bags in the freezer. It thaws quickly and is actually quite nice (extra crunchy) straight from the freezer!

 

IMG_4310

beautiful, crunchy clusters!

Go-To Granola (inspired by these two recipes and tweaked to my tastes over 4 1/2 years of making it)

Ingredients

  • 4 cups oats
  • 1.5 cups nut(s) of choice, whole or roughly chopped/crushed
  • 1.5 cups coconut flakes
  • 4 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1.5 tsp cinnamon
  • 3/4 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 4 tbsp sunflower oil
  • 1/3 honey
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1 egg white

Procedure

  • Preheat the oven (convection setting) to 300F (150C). Spread parchment paper on a baking sheet.
  • Mix the dry ingredients together in a large bowl.
  • Heat the oil, honey, and maple syrup in a small saucepan until smooth.
  • Add the liquids to the dry ingredients and stir until combined. Stir in the egg white until it has coated most of the mixture.
  • Spread the mixture onto the baking sheet and pat it into an even layer.
  • Bake the granola for 40-50′, carefully flipping after 20 minutes. If the granola doesn’t seem crispy when it comes out, don’t worry — it will firm up as it cools.
  • Cool and store or eat immediately!

Enjoy!

7 thoughts on “Recipe: Go-To Granola (previously known as “nutty maple granola”)

Leave a Reply

