Recipe: Whole Wheat Molasses Bread

Finally, a Joy the Baker recipe that has worked out pretty much perfectly for me. I’m talking about this one, for whole wheat molasses bread. I love that it requires only six ingredients and is relatively healthy: the bulk of the ingredients are whole wheat flour and buttermilk, and the only sweetener is molasses (called treacle here in the UK). A bit of cornmeal gives it body.

oh yes

oh yes

And it is so moist. I love that. This bread is great with cream cheese, peanut butter, regular butter, or just plain. Eat it as a dessert, munch on it as a snack, or dip it into soup, like F did. Just go make it and you’ll know what I’m talking about.

Whole Wheat Molasses Bread (from Joy the Baker)

Ingredients

  • 2.5 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup cornmeal
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 2/3 cup buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup molasses (treacle)

Procedure

  • Preheat the oven to 325F (160C). Grease a loaf pan.
  • In a big bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients.
  • In a separate bowl, whisk together the buttermilk and molasses.
  • Add the wet to the dry and mix until just combined. Spread into the pan and bake for 45-50 minutes, until a knife inserted comes out clean.

Enjoy!

10 thoughts on “Recipe: Whole Wheat Molasses Bread

  1. paulettemotzko says:

    I am going to be moving in a few weeks and wanted to use up things in my fridge, freezer and pantry. The flavor in this looks like it might taste like a squaw or pumpernickel type bread. I cannot believe how easy it is and how few ingredients.

    Thanks for sharing this.

    I really love your blog here. I found this on the Reader on Word Press.

    Take a look at my two cooking sites and I would love you to become a member of this one:

    Cooking Up a Storm All Over the World!

    http://www.CookingUpaStorminCA.ning.com

    I will share this recipe on my indexed cooking site called “Cooking Up a Storm With Miss Polly”. I am Miss Polly.

    http://www.CookingUpaStormWithMissPolly.com

    Keep cooking and sharing and I will keep reading and enjoying!

    Paulette Motzko

    • taplatt says:

      Hi,

      Thanks so much for reading and reblogging my recipe! I hope that you are inspired by other recipes on my blog as well. Your blog looks great.

      • paulettemotzko says:

        Gosh Thanks! I take that as a high compliment coming from you!

        What can I call you-name that is?

        I would love you to join the member site and a few of your recipes to it. You would make my month! There has been no activity on there at all except people filling in gibberish on the questionnaire for months now!

        Say prayers I get this stuff packed up soon!

        Paulette Le Pore Motzko

      • taplatt says:

        Hi. My name is Tammela. Thanks for the opportunity!

        What would joining your site entail and how should I go about doing it? Will the content I post remain my own?

        Thanks!

Leave a Reply

