Recipe: Cocoa Brownies

Now you may be wondering why I felt the need to post another brownie recipe when I have a perfectly great one here. Well, I’ve kept stumbling across brownie recipes that use cocoa powder rather than bar chocolate, and that made me curious how different cocoa brownies would taste. I was worried that using cocoa powder would lead to cakier brownies because in my mind melted chocolate = fudgy.

these may or may not last long

these may or may not last long

How wrong I was. Not to mention the rich depth of cocoa’s taste…I may never go back to melted chocolate (though Michaela’s brownies will always hold a special place in my heart). These brownies have been blogged on many different sites across the Interwebs with hardly any variation — for consistency’s sake, I’ll attribute my adaptation to smitten kitchen. Make these now and try not to crumble to the floor in amazement.

Cocoa Brownies (adapted from this recipe)

Ingredients

  • 10 tbsp (140g) unsalted butter
  • 1-1.25 cups sugar (I used just over 1 cup and the brownies were plenty sweet)
  • 3/4 cup + 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cold eggs
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • optional: 1/3 cup walnuts

Procedure

  • Preheat the oven to 325F (160C). Line a baking pan with parchment paper.
  • Combine the butter through salt in a microwave-safe bowl and microwave for 40-50 seconds. Stir to incorporate the melted butter and bring everything together.
  • Beat two eggs with the vanilla in a mixing bowl and add the chocolate mix. Stir until combined, then vigorously beat in the flour.
  • Fold in the walnuts (if using), and bake 20-25′. Let cool before cutting (stick them in the fridge to speed the cooling process).
a small piece goes a long way

a small piece goes a long way

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Recipe: Cocoa Brownies

Leave a Reply

