Recipe: Sour Cream Banana Bread

I made borshch the other night and we ended up with leftover sour cream. First I thought about making a coffee cake with it, but then I saw the three super-ripe bananas sitting on the table and thought, “I bet I could make banana bread with sour cream; it’s sort of similar to yogurt.” A quick Google recipe search confirmed my hunch, so I modified my go-to banana bread recipe slightly to accommodate sour cream. I also made it a bit healthier by adding whole wheat flour and cornmeal.

IMG_4838

The banana bread turned moist, fluffy, and not too sweet; it stayed moist for a couple of days, too. It’s great plain or with a schmear of butter or peanut butter. If you need any more incentive to make this, F said it was “mördergeil,” which loosely translates to “f***ing awesome” or “to die for.”

Sour Cream Banana Bread

Ingredients

  • 3 very ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 2 tbsp butter, melted
  • 1 cup white flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup cornmeal
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1.5 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • to taste: fresh grated nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • optional: 3/4 cup chopped nuts and/or chocolate chips

Procedure

  • Preheat the oven to 350F (175C) and grease a loaf pan.
  • In a medium bowl, mash the bananas and stir in the rest of the wet ingredients (through butter).
  • In another bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients.
  • Stir the wet ingredients into the dry ones until just combined. Gently stir in the nuts/chocolate, if using.
  • Bake for 45-55 minutes or until a knife inserted comes out clean.

Enjoy!

10 thoughts on “Recipe: Sour Cream Banana Bread

  1. Mary Van Nortwick says:

    So I’m assuming I can make it with yogurt — no sour cream in the house (my mother would not be happy to know this.)

Leave a Reply

