Recipe: Smitten Kitchen’s Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Since I cannot contribute driving to cross country and road races, I’ve taken it upon myself to provide post-race treats for the club-mates who generously let me snag a spot in their cars. So far this season, I’ve shared my granola and easy energy bars, both of which received praise and recipe requests. For last weekend’s post-Met League cross country treat, I decided to make some sweet-yet-relatively-healthy oatmeal raisin cookies (if you want über-healthy, make these banana-oat snack “cookies” instead). Of the few recipes I had bookmarked, the smitten kitchen one looked the best, and I fortunately had all of the ingredients on hand — not to mention that smitten kitchen recipes almost always turn out amazingly well, so I knew it’d be hard to mess these up.

IMG_5250

I didn’t make too many adjustments to Deb’s already perfect recipe. My cookies didn’t turn out as thick as hers, despite the fact that I chilled the dough for half an hour before baking the cookies. I used big, juicy “flame raisins” (they’d been the cheapest at Tesco) and all the walnuts I had around — feel free to use more or fewer, or leave them out, depending on your preferences.

 

The cookies turned out beautifully: crisp edges, chewy insides. Divine — and addicting. They got rave reviews from my running club-mates (glad you all liked them!). Now, what to make for the next race…

What are your favorite post-race or post-exercise refueling treats?

Smitten Kitchen’s Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies (very slightly adapted from smitten kitchen; makes 16-18 medium cookies)

Ingredients

  • 115g (1/2 cup = 1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
  • 125g (2/3 cup) brown sugar, packed (I used dark brown)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 95g (3/4 cup) plain/all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 – 1/2 tsp salt
  • 120g (1.5 cups) rolled oats
  • 120g (1 cup) raisins
  • optional: 45-60g (1/2 – 3/4 cup) walnuts, chopped

Procedure

  • In a large bowl, use an electric mixer to cream the butter, sugar, egg, and vanilla until smooth.
  • In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt. Stir this into the wet mixture, then add the oats, raisins, and walnuts and stir until just combined.
  • Optional: Chill the dough for 20-40 minutes in the fridge.
  • When the dough is done chilling, preheat the oven to 175C (350F).
  • Place tablespoon-sized balls of dough on a parchment-lined cookie sheet, then bake for 9-12 minutes or until the edges are golden-brown. Let cool for 5 minutes on the cookie sheet before transferring.

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Recipe: Smitten Kitchen’s Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Leave a Reply

