Recipe: Soy-Poached Chicken

We often stumble upon the best recipes when we’re not actively looking for them. With two thawed chicken breasts in my fridge, I was going to cook them today with the rest of my red cabbage. However, I just happened to be reading Mark Bittman’s most recent column in the New York Times and it featured nine easy chicken recipes. I often don’t have all the required ingredients on hand, but for the Soy-Poached Chicken I did, and so quickly changed my chicken-cooking plans. I’m glad I did, because the lemon and soy sauce in this recipe make a heavenly combination of sour-salty, and the red pepper adds just a bit of kick at the end.

Soy-Poached Chicken (adapted from this recipe)

Ingredients

  • 1 medium-large onion, diced
  • 2 medium-sized boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tsp lemon zest
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • to taste: red pepper flakes

Procedure

  • Cook onions, in oil over med-low heat, until soft.
  • Add chicken breasts and the rest of the ingredients.
  • Bring to a boil and then lower heat — simmer with the lid on for 10-15′.
  • Take out chicken, turn heat up and boil liquid until it’s reduced to your liking.
  • Put chicken back in the pan to reheat it.
  • Serve chicken with sauce poured over the top.

смачного!