Recipe: Sweet Potato Rosemary Biscuits

If you have been reading my blog for a while, you have probably figured out that I love pancakes. But did you know that one of my top 5 favorite foods is actually sweet potatoes? I haven’t posted many recipes featuring them, mostly because they do not exist in Ukraine (and that’s where I was cooking and recipe-ing from September 2010 to November 2012). Now that I’m back in sweet potato land, however, they feature regularly — like weekly, no joke — in my pans of roasted root vegetables. Sweet potatoes are delicious baked whole in the oven, split open and juiced up with some butter, salt, and pepper. They also feature wonderfully in these pancakes. (Uh oh, back to the pancakes again…)

But I’m really here to tell you that I’ve discovered another great use for sweet potatoes: biscuits! I recently learned how easy it is to make biscuits — they’re great alongside beef stew or with whipped goat cheese and tomatoes. Thanks to spoon fork bacon, I can now whip up a variation on simple biscuits that includes sweet potatoes (and rosemary).

orange + green

orange + green

We enjoyed these sweet potato biscuits with reheated vegetarian chili that we made 7 liters of a couple weeks ago (there was too much to finish…after 3 days we had to freeze the rest before the beans knocked us both out). F had barely taken one bite of his biscuit before saying, “You have to make these again.” Yes, they were that good. Super moist (from the potato), sweet and salty, slightly piney from the rosemary…They were so good I didn’t even dip mine in my chili because I wanted to enjoy the flavors all by themselves. The biscuits would also be excellent toasted with butter or spread with a bit of cream cheese.

next time I'll have to make a double batch

next time I’ll have to make a double batch

Sweet Potato Rosemary Biscuits (adapted from spoon fork bacon)

Ingredients

  • 1.25 cups flour
  • 1.5 tsp sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1.5 tsp salt (I will use just 1 tsp next time, as I found the biscuits a bit too salty)
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, chilled and cubed
  • 1 cup mashed sweet potato (~1 sm-med sweet potato)
  • 1.5 tsp fresh rosemary, minced (you could also use dried but the flavor wouldn’t be as strong)
  • 3 tbsp buttermilk

Procedure

  • Peel and dice the sweet potato, then boil it until soft enough to mash (15-20 min). Mash that tater up!
  • Preheat the oven to 400F (200C).
  • Whisk together the dry ingredients, then cut in the butter with a pastry cutter or your hands.
  • Fold in the sweet potato, rosemary, and buttermilk until just combined.
  • Plop globs of dough onto a cookie sheet (I got six med-large biscuits out of this recipe) and bake for 15-20 minutes.

Enjoy!

7 thoughts on “Recipe: Sweet Potato Rosemary Biscuits

  1. Pingback: Recipe: Sweet Potato Pancakes | Wherever I am, you are there also

  2. Pingback: Recipe: Spicy Sweet Potato Pancakes | Wherever I am, you are there also

  3. Pingback: Recipe: Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Quick Bread | Wherever I am, you are there also

  4. Pingback: Recipe: Warm Tahini-Citrus Couscous & Kale Salad with Baked Sweet Potato | Wherever I am, you are there also

  5. Pingback: Recipe: Classic Buttermilk Biscuits | Wherever I am, you are there also

  6. Pingback: Recipe: Dianne’s Sweet Potato Casserole | Wherever I am, you are there also

  7. Pingback: Recipe: Chicken & Dumplings | Wherever I am, you are there also

Leave a Reply

