Recipe: Super Citrus-Ginger Nectar

Enjoying the original recipe

When Emma, Michael, and I were in Kyiv, I promised them we’d stop to drink a cup of “hot chocolate” (literally melted chocolate). I knew just the place to go, as I’d been there last year while touring around with a former PCV and her mom. It was a cold and snowy afternoon, perfect for a long stop in a cafe. However, when I read the menu I found that I wasn’t actually in the mood for melted chocolate…my eyes were drawn to a special tea of lemon, orange, ginger, and honey, brewed in a French Press. It arrived and was incredible, like a nectar of health and vitality. I bought ginger in Kyiv with the intent of replicating the tea at home. My version isn’t quite as flavorful as the cafe’s but it’s pretty darn good. You can just feel your body soaking up the Vitamin C!

Super Citrus-Ginger Nectar

Ingredients

  • 1/2 an orange, cut into small sections with peel on
  • 1/2 a lemon, cut into small sections with peel on
  • Ginger, grated to taste
  • Honey, added to taste

Procedure

  • Prepare ingredients and combine them in the bottom of a French Press — squeeze the citrus sections before dropping them in.
  • Fill the French Press with boiled water and let steep 5-10′. Plunge the French Press, pour into a mug, and enjoy!

смачного!

Brewing nectar

 

8 thoughts on “Recipe: Super Citrus-Ginger Nectar

  1. Rachelle Shubert

    Looks amazing. When I have a cold I boil cardamom, fresh ginger and a cinnamon stick and add honey and drink the tea. My take on East Indian “mooghly”.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Recipe: Cornmeal, Olive Oil & Buttermilk Quick Bread with Orange Zest & Chocolate Chunks | Wherever I am, you are there also

  3. Pingback: Recipe: Spicy Homemade Falafel with Minty Yogurt Sauce | Wherever I am, you are there also

  4. Pingback: Race Recap: SEAA Cross Country Championships, Parliament Hill | Wherever I am, you are there also

  5. Pingback: Recipe: Lemon, Ginger & Turmeric Infusion with Cloves & Honey | Wherever I am, you are there also

  6. Pingback: Recipe: Whole Wheat Focaccia | Wherever I am, you are there also

  7. Pingback: Singing Bach’s “Mass in B Minor” – Wherever I am, you are there also

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.