Recipe: Buckwheat Crepes

IMG_5325

In college, a friend and I used to get together periodically for crepe-making and tea. Crepes have been on my mind (and “to make” list) for a while. Recent build-up to Pancake Day — what UK-ers (UK-ites?) call Shrove Tuesday — finally motivated me to whip up a batch for Sunday brunch (not that I celebrate such a holiday, but any excuse to make pancakes is a good one in my book!).

IMG_5324

These crepes are adapted from smitten kitchen — all I did was substitute some buckwheat flour for some of the plain flour. They turned out really well. F and I enjoyed them with combinations of caramelized bananas, peanut butter, chocolate, and maple syrup. Next time we might go savory, with smoked salmon and dill or eggs and cheese. The crepes themselves aren’t sweet or salty, so you can go either way with the fillings. Get creative!

Buckwheat Crepes (adapted from smitten kitchen; makes 10-12 crepes, enough for 2-4 people)

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup plain (all-purpose) flour
  • 1/4 cup buckwheat flour OR whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup milk (I used semi-skimmed)
  • 4 tbsp unsalted butter, melted & cooled

Procedure

  • Combine all the ingredients in a medium bowl and whisk vigorously or blend with an immersion blender until smooth. Cover the bowl and pop it in the fridge for at least an hour and up to two days.
  • Take the batter out of the fridge about 30 minutes before you’re ready to make the crepes.
  • Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat and grease it with a little bit of butter.
  • Pour 1/4 cup of the batter into the skillet, swirling it around until the batter covers most of the pan’s surface evenly. Cook for about 1 minute, then ease a spatula under the edge of the crepe and flip, cooking for another 20-30 seconds. Repeat until the batter is gone (no need to re-grease the skillet).
  • Serve crepes with your favorite sweet or savory fillings.

Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Recipe: Buckwheat Crepes

  1. Serena

    These pancakes must be amazing! I have recently made a buckwheat gnocchi recipe, completely gluten-free and I didn’t expect the gnocchi to taste so good….So I am going to try different recipes using this delicious flour….Crepe-making and tea sound very good to me!!

    Reply
    1. taplatt Post author

      Thanks for your comment, Serena! The crepes were delicious, and I actually hardly tasted the buckwheat flour. Your buckwheat gnocchi sound really good!

      Reply
      1. Serena

        Have you tried to make them without adding plain flour? I know that often adding different types of flour it’s generally better…But I was wondering if you gave it a go first…

      2. taplatt Post author

        I have not tried them with only buckwheat flour, but I have a feeling it might not work because buckwheat flour alone creates quite a gummy batter. I think a combination of plain flour and buckwheat flour works the best, but feel free to try different ratios!

      3. Serena

        Yes, you are right! And without gluten, flour works in totally different way and you’d probably have to add cornstarch or something like that…. All right, thank you! Have a nice day! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Recipe: Crepes with Smoked Salmon, Sour Cream & Dill | Wherever I am, you are there also

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.