Recipe: Signature Banana Pancakes

This is my staple pancake recipe, the go-to for late Sunday mornings after F and I finish a bike ride and run, respectively. Plenty of our guests have been privy to these ‘cakes, too.

IMG_2857

These pancakes were born during my time as a Peace Corps Volunteer in Ukraine. I developed one pancake recipe but then wanted to make it even healthier by cutting out the white flour. After trying out some substitutions, I came up with the following delicious combination — it’s super easy and has a hearty taste and crunchy mouth feel.

The pancakes come out slightly different each time: sometimes I use more oats, sometimes I skip oats and bump up the cornmeal, sometimes I add a dollop of peanut butter to the batter (though usually we just spread it on top of the cooked pancakes), sometimes I add a healthy tablespoon or two of cocoa powder. Think of this recipe as a base for your own great pancake experimentations — although if you make it as-written, I can promise you will be more than satisfied.

Signature Banana Pancakes (makes 8-10 medium-large pancakes, just enough for 3-4 people)

Ingredients

  • 1.5 cups cornmeal
  • 1/2 cup quick oats
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour (or semolina)
  • 3/4-1 tsp baking soda
  • dash of salt
  • to taste: ground cinnamon + ground nutmeg
  • 2 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1 egg
  • 1-2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2-2.5 cups buttermilk (or kefir)
  • optional: 1 tbsp peanut butter; handful of crushed walnuts; 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • Neutral oil (for cooking)

Procedure

  • Whisk all the dry ingredients together.
  • In a separate bowl, mash the bananas and them mix in the buttermilk, egg, and vanilla. Add the wet mixture to the dry and stir until well-combined.
  • Stir in peanut butter and/or walnuts, if using.
  • Heat oil in a skillet on medium heat and cook pancakes to your preferred doneness. (Flip pancake when bubbles begin to form and pop around the sides.)
  • Serve with syrup, jam, yogurt and molasses, and/or more peanut butter.

Смачного!

20 thoughts on “Recipe: Signature Banana Pancakes

  1. Kira

    Oh my. Delicious. These are my new favorite thing. You know what makes them even better? Nutella. 🙂

    Reply
    1. taplatt Post author

      Glad they turned out well for you. I’m a little addicted to them… Nutella would certainly enhance them.

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Recipe: Chocolate Banana Power Pancakes « Wherever I am, you are there also

  3. Pingback: Recipe: Sweet Semolina Dumplings (Makroud) « Wherever I am, you are there also

  4. Pingback: Recipe: Pumpkin Pancakes « Wherever I am, you are there also

  5. Pingback: What We Feed Our Guests | Wherever I am, you are there also

  6. Pingback: Recipe: Chocolate Banana-Nut Pancakes | Wherever I am, you are there also

  7. Pingback: Recipe: Buttermilk Cornmeal Waffles | Wherever I am, you are there also

  8. Pingback: Recipe: Four-B Pancakes | Wherever I am, you are there also

  9. Pingback: Recipe: “Fluffy but Crispy” Cornmeal & Caramelized Banana Pancakes | Wherever I am, you are there also

  10. Pingback: Recipe: Banana Pancake-Covered Apple Rings | Wherever I am, you are there also

  11. Pingback: Recipe: Almond-Coconut Pancakes | Wherever I am, you are there also

  12. Pingback: Recipe: Buckwheat Crepes | Wherever I am, you are there also

  13. Pingback: Recipe: The Best Wholegrain Banana Bread | Wherever I am, you are there also

  14. Pingback: Recipe: Corn Cakes with Fresh Corn & Green Onions | Wherever I am, you are there also

  15. Pingback: Recipe: Oatmeal Raspberry Pancakes | Wherever I am, you are there also

  16. Pingback: Year in Review: 2014 | Wherever I am, you are there also

  17. Pingback: A New Favorite (& possibly the BEST) Pancake Recipe – Wherever I am, you are there also

  18. Pingback: Year in Review: 2018 | Wherever I am, you are there also

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.