Recipe: Homemade Chai Tea

Having bought double cream for use in this strawberry “mousse” but not having used it all, I thought it would make a delicious complement to a warm mug of chai tea.

The problem? No chai tea bags. Just black tea.

The solution? Make my own chai!

IMG_4826

After trolling around on various blogs to learn about the necessary spice profile for chai, I filled the trusty electronic kettle and turned it on. While the water was heating, I put two black tea bags along with some spices into our blue polka-dot (polka-dotted?) teapot. The water boiled. I poured it into the teapot, put the lid on, and let it steep for 10-15 minutes.

When I returned to the kitchen, I vigorously mixed just a pinch of sugar — I am not generally a sugar-in-hot-drinks person — into some of the double cream. Then I poured that into my matching blue polka-dot mug and filled up the mug with hot homemade chai tea.

IMG_4833

My reaction after the first swallow: “heaven in my mouth.” I don’t know if it was the double cream or the spices that did it, but that was one good cup of chai. Warm, well-rounded, richly spiced, a tiny bit sweet. Satisfying, comforting. So good I had no need for a sweet treat on the side.

Trivia tidbit: “chai” merely means “tea” in many languages, including Ukrainian and Swahili.

Homemade Chai Tea

Ingredients

  • 1-1.5 liters just-boiled water
  • 2 black tea bags
  • 1 cinnamon stick/bark
  • 4 whole cardamom pods
  • 3 whole cloves
  • 3 black peppercorns
  • pinch of powdered ginger
  • dusting of freshly-grated nutmeg
  • 1-2 tbsp double cream
  • 1/2 – 1 tsp sugar (more or less as you prefer)

Procedure

  • Set the water on to boil.
  • Meanwhile, combine the tea and spices in a teapot. When the water boils, pour it into the teapot. Let steep for 10-15 minutes, then remove the tea bags.
  • After removing the tea bags, mix together the cream and sugar in the mug you will use.
  • Pour the tea over the cream, take a sip, and sink into a blissful state.

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Recipe: Homemade Chai Tea

  1. Pingback: Recipe: Spinach & Potato Patties | Wherever I am, you are there also

  2. Pingback: Recipe: Lemon Cornmeal Cake with Lemon Glaze – Wherever I am, you are there also

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.