Recipe: Roasted Root Vegetables

Sweet potatoes are one of my favorite foods. Sometime when I was in high school (man that was a long time ago), my mom came across a recipe for roasted root vegetables. Before that, we used to bake whole sweet potatoes and eat them plain or with a little butter and brown sugar. The roasted root recipe, however, allowed for the addition of other vegetables — think carrots, parsnips, turnips, potatoes, beets, shallots — as well as spices (cumin works well). The first pan of roasted root veggies was a revelation. I took it upon myself to continue roasting, and now it is one of my favorite ways to eat winter’s hearty root vegetables. They are good cold, too; during my senior year of college I would roast a pan of veggies on a Sunday and then keep the leftovers in the fridge for quick post-sports practice dinners.

One of the best things about this “recipe” is that it can be infinitely varied and customized in terms of ingredients and flavors. F and I have roasted cauliflower and Brussels sprouts with cumin seeds. We roasted carrots alone for this salad last summer. I have roasted just sweet potato chunks and garlic cloves. You can roast a combination of veggies with Italian seasonings (oregano, rosemary, tarragon, etc). I will provide you with a basic outline below — it’s up to you to create your signature combination!

Roasted Root Vegetables

Ingredients

  • Any combination of the following vegetables:
    • sweet potatoes
    • white potatoes
    • carrots
    • parsnips
    • turnips
    • beets
    • onions/shallots
    • whole garlic cloves
    • fennel
    • cauliflower
    • Brussels sprouts
  • a healthy pouring of olive oil
  • to taste: salt and pepper
  • Additional seasoning suggestions:
    • whole cumin seeds
    • rosemary + oregano
    • ground ginger + red pepper flakes

Procedure

  • The basic procedure:
    • Preheat the oven to 425F/218C.
    • Chop your veggies into equal-sized chunks. Put them in a baking dish and toss with a generous amount of olive oil and your spices of choice.
    • Put in the oven and bake for 45-60′ or until the veggies are soft to your liking. Stir them every 20′ or so. Once the outsides of the veggies become browned, you can turn the oven heat down to 400F/205C for the remainder.

Enjoy!

IMG_4126

17 thoughts on “Recipe: Roasted Root Vegetables

  1. Bailey

    I think the key to the roasted veggie deliciousness is surface area in contact with oil. I have to mentioned that in addition to all these delectable options listed roasted kohlrabi has become my absolute favorite. Smoked paprika is my preferred spice pairing. You should totally try it! While its not a root vegetable, I feel like kohlrabi is kind of an honorary root.

    Reply
    1. taplatt Post author

      Thanks for the ideas, Bailey! I am not familiar with kohlrabi at all, I must say…but I shall seek it out and try it with paprika.

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Recipe: Spicy Homemade Falafel with Minty Yogurt Sauce « Wherever I am, you are there also

  3. Pingback: Recipe: Sweet Potato Rosemary Biscuits | Wherever I am, you are there also

  4. Pingback: Recipe(s): Mexican with a Twist | Wherever I am, you are there also

  5. Pingback: Recipe(s): Roasted Eggplant with Crispy Chickpeas, Lamb Meatballs, & Yogurt-Tahini Sauce | Wherever I am, you are there also

  6. Pingback: Recipe: Spicy Sweet Potato Pancakes | Wherever I am, you are there also

  7. Pingback: Recipe: Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Quick Bread | Wherever I am, you are there also

  8. Pingback: What We Feed Our Guests | Wherever I am, you are there also

  9. Pingback: Recipe: Warm Tahini-Citrus Couscous & Kale Salad with Baked Sweet Potato | Wherever I am, you are there also

  10. Pingback: Recipe: Dianne’s Sweet Potato Casserole | Wherever I am, you are there also

  11. Pingback: Recipe: Smitten Kitchen’s Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies | Wherever I am, you are there also

  12. Pingback: Recipe: Simple Dal | Wherever I am, you are there also

  13. Pingback: Recipe: Spicy Sweet Potato Fries | Wherever I am, you are there also

  14. Pingback: What’s Been Cooking? | Wherever I am, you are there also

  15. Pingback: Recipe: Beetroot & Carrot Salad with Raisins, Walnuts, & Goat Cheese – Wherever I am, you are there also

  16. Pingback: Recipe: Winter Salad Variations | Wherever I am, you are there also

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.